Reflecting on Tinef’s East Coast Exploits (7 photos)

Tinef, my Chester Yawl that sails, is now a left-coaster, but she grew up in the East and had a good life while we were back there. She was built in my garage in Princeton, launched on Carnegie Lake, and then towed behind my truck to a couple cool sailing spots before making the trek across Canada last summer. Right now she’s moth-balled (waiting for Seattle’s Spring to really take hold), but soon we’ll be off to some of the sweet spots in the Pacific Northwest (San Juan Islands being at the top of that list).

In preparation for our upcoming adventures, I’ve been reflecting on some old ones. Here are a few shots I dug out of the collection:

This is my dad and me in the garage, where she was built, the night before launching.

The christening ceremony (champaign spilled across the bow – not broken), that’s Professor Kasdin in his kayak there.

At home, in the local waters of Princeton, New Jersey (Carnegie Lake)

A little bit of warm weather, and warm water sailing in the Chesapeake, Baltimore, MD

One of my favorite islands in Penobscot Bay, Maine (another Maine trip here)

An excursion around the Statue of Liberty in New York

This was a beautiful weekend spent camping on the shores of Lake Saranac in upstate New York


One thought on “Reflecting on Tinef’s East Coast Exploits (7 photos)

Leave a comment